Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Quit Facebook

facebook - quit2Could you do it?  Could you actually go cold turkey on facebook? 

Seem like there is a growing movement of people willing to unplug, disconnect and delete their account.  On the site quitfacebookday.com they have set May 31, 2010 as the quit day.  So far they have 5146 people committed to quit.  Considering there are an estimated 400 MILLION users, this is 0.000012865% of the users.  Maybe this is more of a media event as a quick search on Google News returned lots of papers reporting on this issue.  My favourite article has to be the one titled ‘Facebook Revolt’ from TMCNET.com.

It seems that all the hullabaloo has to do with privacy concerns and the challenge of keeping photos, thoughts and other facebook activities private rather than public.  Facebook has had a number of revisions of its terms of use that make is difficult to understand who can and can not access your information.

Well, if you actually decide to quit or at least explore the option, here are a few things to know.

How to quit facebook

On the top right of the page, hover over account and select account settings.  Click on deactivate account.  Don’t worry if you aren’t sure there is another screen with the ominous warning and question “are you sure you want to deactivate your account?”

I got a list of five friends (faces blured by me) that facebook claims will miss me and then probing questions on “Why are you deactivating?”

facebook - quit image

At least facebook as the option of letting them know that you have a privacy concern.

One word of warning, if you do actually deactivate, be sure that you don’t log back in for at least 2 weeks.  If you are tempted to check back in, your account will be restored.

Your privacy settings

Perhaps a less dramatic, but still effective way to control your imageprivacy is to dive into the facebook privacy settings.  While they are nearly as many layers as an onion, here are a few things to look for.

Hover over account and click on privacy settings.  Start with the profile information.  My recommendation is that you want to have it locked to ‘Only friends’.  The same applies for contact information.  If they aren’t a friend, do you really want them to have your phone number… etc?

Applications and website is where things get a bit more convoluted.  For example, on ‘What your friends can share about you’ allows your friends to link and share through facebook information that might have thought was for your friends only.  It is best to uncheck almost everything here.

Leave a thought or comment here on this blog

Will you quit facebook?  Why or why not?

Post a Comment

ShareThis